Monday, January 27, 2014

Shadow Ops: Breach Zone: By Myke Cole



The Great Reawakening did not come quietly. Across the country and in every nation, people began “coming up Latent,” developing terrifying powers—summoning storms, raising the dead, and setting everything they touch ablaze. Those who Manifest must choose: become a sheepdog who protects the flock or a wolf who devours it…

In the wake of a bloody battle at Forward Operating Base Frontier and a scandalous presidential impeachment, Lieutenant Colonel Jan Thorsson, call sign “Harlequin,” becomes a national hero and a pariah to the military that is the only family he’s ever known.

In the fight for Latent equality, Oscar Britton is positioned to lead a rebellion in exile, but a powerful rival beats him to the punch: Scylla, a walking weapon who will stop at nothing to end the human-sanctioned apartheid against her kind.

When Scylla’s inhuman forces invade New York City, the Supernatural Operations Corps are the only soldiers equipped to prevent a massacre. In order to redeem himself with the military, Harlequin will be forced to face off with this havoc-wreaking woman from his past, warped by her power into something evil…

The first thing I have to say about Breach Zone is that it was amazing. I loved Control Point and Fortress Frontier, but I honestly think Breach Zone is the best in the series.

Cole’s writing, while already impressive, has improved with each book in the series. In each book Cole has stretched different writer’s muscles in an attempt to better captivate the reader and tell the story. In Breach Zone Cole expertly jumps back and forth between the past and the present in order to expand readers’ understanding of the overall story behind Scylla, Harlequin, and the limbic  dampener. On top of that, Cole does a fantastic job of showing the enormous terror that latents feel when their powers appear. Even more impressively, Cole is able to create feelings empathy towards one of the most monstrous characters in the novels, humanizing her, yet without lessening the need to take her down.

Of course, besides telling an interesting story that fills in the holes in different characters back stories Breach Zone also has tons of action that will keep even the most ADD reader captivated. Further, not only is this action told from Halrequin’s point of view but readers of the previous books in the series (which I highly recommend (both because they are great books and because it is essential to fully understand and enjoy Breach Zone)) will be excited to know that both Oscar Britton and Alan Bookbinder play large roles in this third and final installment of the Shadow Ops series.

All in all, I really liked Breach Zone. I was impressed with the entire Shadow Ops series with its combination of the military and x-men style powers. Myke Cole is an excellent writer who has improved his craft with each book, and I personally can’t wait to read what he comes out with next.


Publsiher: Ace

Published: January 28, 2014

Price: $7.19

Link to Buy:

No comments:

Post a Comment