Sunday, August 15, 2010

Shades Of Gray: By Jackie Kessler and Caitlin Kittredge




Jet and Iridium—best friends turned bitter enemies—teamed up to foil the evil plans of the rogue superhero known as Night, but in defeating him they inadvertently destroyed the secret Corp-Co transmitter whose frequency kept the metapowered heroes of the Squadron in line. Now these heroes have turned against New Chicago, ransacking the city they once protected.

Even worse, the powerful antisuperhero group known as Everyman has taken advantage of the chaos to fan the flames of prejudice against all superpowered men and women. Just when New Chicago needs them most, Jet and the small band of heroes who have remained on the right side of the law find themselves the targets of suspicion and outright hatred.

Things aren’t going much better for Iridium. When she springs her father, a notorious supervillain, from prison to help her fight the marauding ex-superheroes, she finds that Corp-Co still has some nasty tricks up its sleeve.

But when the most dangerous man alive, the sociopath known as Doctor Hypnotic, suddenly surfaces, Jet and Iridium will once again be called upon to set aside their differences. Yet in the process, deeply buried secrets will come to light that will change everything the former best friends think they know about each other and themselves.


Fans of Black and White will love this engaging sequel, Shades of Gray.

Shades of Gray helps answer many of the questions proposed in Black and White. This is sensational for fans of Black and White who were left with many questions at the end of the first book. Because of this readers who haven’t read Black and White should do so before trying to read Shades of Gray if they want to understand what’s going on.

Like Black and White Kittredge and Kessler have done an amazing job creating the world of New Chicago and its multidimensional characters. Jet and Iridium are amazingly well written and fans of the series really will get to see what makes each of them tick in this new book.

One of my favorite parts of Shades of Gray were the inter chapters where you get to see the past and what the old heroes were like. It was really interesting to watch the transition between hero and villain and what when through Archlight’s and Night’s minds. But even more impressive than that was the way everything was so eloquently pieced together. From the introduction of the new heroes, to the tidbits from the journal before each chapter, to the alternation between characters in the past and present. All of it was done beautifully and Kittredge and Kessler really outdid themselves when creating this book.

My only complaint was that it’s not over. The mysteries are not all solved and there’s even more questions now. But it was well written, filled with great action sequences, and an incredibly engaging book. All in all a must read for any fan of superheroes or anyone just looking for an engaging science fiction/fantasy book.


9 out of 10


Publisher: Spectra

Published: June 22, 2010

Price: $16.00

No comments:

Post a Comment