Monday, August 16, 2010

All That Lives Must Die: By Eric Nylund



Eliot and Fiona Post are twins caught up in an epic custody battle between their mother's and father's families. Their mother is the immortal goddess Atropos, the eldest Fate, and their father is Lucifer, Lord of the infernals, a diabolical fallen angel. The families have put them through rigorous, life-threatening challenges, and together they've risen to combat them in amazing ways. But now they are facing the greatest trial of all—high school.

Paxington Unviersity is no normal high school—it's a place where gods and goddesses, warriors and socerers learn to harness their power, where a debate in class can end in a duel, and your classmates aren't simply friends or enemies, but allies in battle or threats to your life. To flunk is to die--only the toughest graduate. As Fiona and Eliot struggle to keep up their grades by surviving the rigorous training, both families are watching.

High school is bad enough, but imagine being caught in the midst of an immortal/infernal war...


All That Lives Must Die is more than some book just about two teens who get super powers. It is instead a masterful work detailing dozens of stories and myths into one seamlessly well written novel.

Nylund’s Mortal Coils series begins with the protagonists, Elliot and Fiona, knowing nothing about their lineage. As the story progresses they each learn about their parts, but plenty of mysteries are yet to be revealed. Because they are the children of an angel and a fallen angel they possess the ability to work with or kill either of side of their family (the angles), who have been help in a stalemate of sorts since they made a truce prohibiting direct contact between the two groups.

Now in the second installment of Mortal Coils, All That Lives Must Die, Elliot and Fiona are back and each of them have only begun to discover the magnitude of their powers. To help with this, each of them are sent to their hardest task yet, high school. Paxington University is a school where gods and goddesses, and warriors and sorcerers learn to harness their power, and for Elliot and Fiona it’s only the beginning of their journey.

I really enjoyed both Mortal Coils and All That Lives Must Die. I usually tend to like books that incorporate mythical figures, such as The Lightning Thief, and The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel. But I have to say the Mortal Coils series has to be one of my favorites of these kinds of series.

More than anything though Mortal Coils is an incredibly well written book. It’s fight scenes are detailed and sensational. Its characters are engaging and relatable. And the plot is intricate and filled with twists without being overly confusing and detrimental to the book.

Nylund really has done a fantastic job and I hope that Tor picks up the rest of this five part series, because it really is one of the best books I’ve read in a while and I can’t wait to see how it turns out.

10 out of 10


Publisher: Tor Books

Published: July 20, 2010

Price: $15.99

No comments:

Post a Comment