Sunday, June 6, 2010

Blonde Bombshell: By Tom Holt



The year is 2017. Lucy Pavlov is the CEO of PavSoft Industries, home of a revolutionary operating system that every computer in the world runs on. Her personal wealth is immeasurable, her intelligence is unfathomable, and she's been voted World's Most Beautiful Woman for three years running. To put it simply - she has it all.

But not everything is quite right in Lucy's life. For starters, she has no memories prior to 2015. She also keeps having run-ins with a unicorn. And to make matters even worse, a bomb is hurtling through interstellar space, headed straight for Lucy - and the planet known as Earth.


What can you say about an author like Tom Holt?

His books are creative, odd, hilarious, and great reads, and Blonde Bombshell is no exception.

Blonde Bombshell takes place in the near future and revolves around computer genius Lucy Pavlov and intergalactic bomb, Mark Two (who takes a body and calls himself Mark Twain), and their efforts to stop the Ostar (an intergalactic race driven mad by the radio music signals humans sent through space) from blowing up Earth.

While at some points Blonde Bombshell is a little hard to follow, its off the wall humor more than makes up for it. Blonde Bombshell jokes about everything from corporate stooges, to the misuse of common expressions, to the idiocy of popular culture, hitting the mark on most of these jokes. But besides the humor, Holt demonstrates his ability as a talented writer in this novel, placing himself in the company of the irreverent Douglas Adams.

All in all readers should read Blonde Bombshell for the humor, and those that give this rip-roarious novel a chance will not be disappointed. An excellent read for fans of A. Lee Martinez, Christopher Moore, Terry Pratchett, and Douglas Adams, as this humorous fantasy novel provides exactly what it promises, a great summer read.


8.5 out of 10


Publisher: Orbit

Published: June 18, 2010

Price: $13.99

No comments:

Post a Comment