Thursday, November 10, 2011

Eyes to See: By Joseph Nassise



In an urban fantasy that charts daring new territory in the field, Jeremiah Hunt has been broken by a malevolent force that has taken his young daughter and everything else of value in his life: his marriage, his career, his reputation. Desperate to reclaim what he has lost, Hunt finally turns to the supernatural for justice.

Abandoning all hope for a normal life, he enters the world of ghosts and even more dangerous entities from beyond the grave. Sacrificing his normal sight so that he can see the souls of the dead and the powers that stalk his worst nightmares, Hunt embarks upon a strange new career--a pariah among the living; a scourge among the dead; doomed to walk between the light of day and the deepest darkness beyond night.

His love for his departed daughter sustains him when all is most hopeless, but Hunt is cursed by something more evil than he can possibly imagine. As he descends into the maelstrom of his terrifying quest, he discovers that even his deepest fears are but prelude to yet darker deeds by a powerful entity from beyond the grave...that will not let him go until it has used him for its own nefarious purposes.


Fans of Richard Kadrey’s Sandman Slim novels and Mike Carey’s Felix Castor novels will love Joseph Nassise’s Eye’s To See.

Nassise’s novel is dark, gritty, and full of interesting, well written characters. In fact this was one of my only complaints about the book, was the fact that readers are not able to learn more about these characters. I wanted to know more about Demitri, Denise, and especially Scream and Whisper. But while readers might be left wanting more from the supporting cast, the protagonist, Hunt, is really given the spotlight of the story. Readers are exposed to everything about Hunt from his obsession with finding his daughter, to the way his life deteriorated around him, to how the paranormal world was thrust upon him forever changing and scarring him.

Yet all of this is not too much. Nassise does a fantastic job creating a sympathetic yet fascinating character who gave up everything from his marriage, to his job, to his sight to try to rectify the mistake that was made 5 years before.

Of course none of this would matter if Eyes to See wasn’t such a well written engaging book. Yes, it is dark. No, it’s not happy. But it IS well written, full of interesting characters (that I hope to learn more about later), action-packed, and just plain captivating. I wouldn’t recommend this book to everyone, but to those looking for something interesting and dark, following in the veins of Kadrey or Carey, then look no further. Certainly a good book.

9 out of 10


Publisher: Tor

Published: October 11, 2011

Price: $22.99

1 comment:

  1. Thanks for the great review! Glad you enjoyed it.

    -Joe Nassise