Friday, January 1, 2010

Death’s Mistress (A Midnight’s Daughter Novel): By Karen Chance

Death’s Mistress (A Midnight’s Daughter Novel)


Dorina Basarab is a dhampir-half-human, half-vampire. Back home in Brooklyn after the demise of her insane Uncle Dracula, Dory's hoping her life is about to calm down. But soon Dory realizes someone is killing vampire Senate members, and if she can't stop the murderer, her friends may be next...


I hadn’t heard of Karen Chance before reading Death’s Mistress, but you can grantee that I wont be keeping her name a secret after finishing it. Death’s Mistress is the second book in Chance’s A Midnight’s Daughter series and while a reader can follow Death’s Mistress without reading Midnight’s Daughter, the first book in the series, it does make the series more enjoyable when read in the proper order.

Fans of Laurell K Hamilton and Patricia Briggs will love this series as Death’s Mistress is filled with nonstop action and detailed sexual exploits. But this series is so much more than an action packed sexual romp, the characters are multidimensional and the plot intricate and full of twists and turns. Chance does a great job of making Death’s Mistress more than just another harlequin vampire novel by giving the half human, half vampire heroine, Dorina, a complicated range of emotions. This pushes the plot along and has Dorina make surprising decisions that the reader might not otherwise expect.

All-in-all Death’s Mistress is a great book, and I’d recommend it to any fan of urban fantasy wholeheartedly.

No comments:

Post a Comment